Tags

, , ,

Before I get into the good stuff I wanted to share my simple dinner from last night with you. This is an organic tomato soup that I bought from Cosco, it comes in a 2-pack and is super yummy. I topped off the soup with Stacy’s simply naked pita chips and touch of 2% mozzarella cheese. Even if it is 95 degrees outside I still love the warmth of a good soup!

Now on to the main topic, GOALS!

Everyone is striving for something different in regards to your health and fitness goals. Whether you want to lose weight, gain muscle, or increase your overall health it’s crucial to set goals. Most importantly you want to be sure to set realistic goals that you know you’ll be able to achieve and devise a specific plan to reach them.

The first step to setting realistic goals is to break them down into short-term goals and long-term goals. Your short-term goals should act as baby steps to get you to your long-term goal.

I will use my goals as an example.

Long Term Goal: Complete my first half marathon

Notice how I am not setting a specific time frame that I want to finish my half marathon, but I am simply satisfied with completing my first half marathon. This is a great example of a realistic long-term goal, I want to achieve something very difficult but I’m not setting my standards too high. Once I’ve conquered my first half marathon, I can then make an accurate and realistic judgment as to the time frame I’d like to finish my second half marathon in.

It’s so gratifying to achieve a goal, that’s why short-term goals are great! Write them down and put it on your fridge, then cross off the goals when you reach them.

Short Term Goals:

(1)    Find a half marathon training program that is realistic to my current fitness level, and stick to it.

(2)    Strength train 2-3 times a week

(3)    Fuel my body with the right amount of nutrients and healthy food.

(4)    Stretch – A LOT

Setting your goals is the easiest part, the others steps can be a bit of a challenge for most people. Remember to keep the motivation and visualize your success (me crossing the finish line). Well you may ask, “How do I stay motivated?”  Here are a couple of tips:

  • Plan ahead, map out your exercise routine for the week and write it down. Cross off each one as you achieve them.
  • Set an alarm on your phone as a reminder to go work out.
  • Think of your work out as an important appointment (Doctor’s, Dinner reservation, etc) act like it’s something you can’t miss.
  •        Think about how you will feel and how others might think of you if you give up.
  • Remember what you feel like after you workout. 90% of the time you’ll never regret a work out.
  •     Plan ahead with your meals. Write down your meal plan for each day of the week, go to the grocery store on Sunday and stock up.
  • If you work out of an office, pack your lunches & snacks. Don’t get out of hand with your portions.
  • Visualize how you will feel and look when you finally achieve your goals!
  • Mix up your workout routines, sticking to the same routine will become monotonous. Keep it fun and fresh every time.

The faster you want to see results the harder you’ll have to work to achieve them. Happy goal setting everyone, I hope this helps you reach you desired fitness/health level!

Question:

What are some of your goals and how do you plan to achieve them?

                  What keeps you motivated?

